Skip to main content

Creative Bloq is supported by its audience. When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn more

2012 Vimeo Awards winners announced

Online video portal Vimeo celebrated the creativity of some of the world's best filmmakers last night with a glittering 2012 Vimeo Awards ceremony in New York City.

The 2012 Vimeo Awards were the pinnacle of a two month long competition, which saw Vimeo receive over 14,500 entries from 147 countries, with $5,000 (£3,200) prizes being awarded to 13 individual category winners with another $25,000 (£16,000) going to winner of the Grand Prize.

UK entrants made a strong showing on the night, scooping up no less than three category awards, although the top Grand Prize went to US studio Everynone for its Symmetry video:

The three UK winners were:

1. Astray Films, which one the Action Sports category with its film, Dark Side Of The Lens:

2. Pilgrim Films, which won the best Documentary category with its film, Amar (All Achievements Require Time):

3. Academy Plus (aka A+), which won the Fashion category with its film, Skirt:

2012 Vimeo Awards: category winners

The complete list of category winners runs like this:

  1. Action Sports: Dark Side of the Lens by Astray Films
  2. Advertising: K-Swiss Kenny Powers - MFCEO by Caviar
  3. Animation: Umbra by Malcolm Sutherland
  4. Captured: Sweatshoppe Video Painting Europe by Sweatshoppe
  5. Documentary: Amar (All Great Achievements Require Time) by Pilgrim Films
  6. Experimental: Prie Dieu by Cokau
  7. Fashion: Skirt by Academy Plus (A+)
  8. Lyrical: Symmetry by Everynone
  9. Motion Graphics: A History of the Title Sequence by Jurjen Versteeg
  10. Music Video: Manchester Orchestra: Simple Math by Daniels
  11. Narrative: BLINKY™ by Ruairi Robinson
  12. Series: Often Awesome The Series by All Aces Media
  13. Remix: Rear Window Timelapse by Jeff Desom

2012 Vimeo Awards: Honorary Awards

2012 Vimeo Awards also included three honorary awards:

  • The Honorary Award for New Creators went to directing duo Daniel Scheinhart and Daniel Kwan, collectively known as DANIELS, for their outstanding work over the last 18 months.
  • The Honorary Award for Social Change was awarded to worldwide collaborative project One Day On Earth.
  • The Honorary Award for Digital Maverick was awarded to openFrameworks, an open source C++ toolkit for creative coding.